Yesterday I tried to finish up my new build. The idea was to download WIN 10 and get it up to snuff. The downloads weren’t taking. After two hour and a half to two hour waiting periods while Microsoft downloaded WIN 10 to the computer, I went to Microsoft Answer Desk to try to get them to help me with their product, which wasn’t upgrading at the last minute. The two techs I talked to, one of whom was in the Philippines, both were at a loss as to what to do about the upgrade not finishing. They suggested I do the same things I was already doing. After trying one more time, and this now at the end of the day, I gave up. I found that one of the new parts wasn’t working and had to order a new one. I set the computer aside until the new part comes in. When it does, I will repeat the procedure of downloading WIN 10 to a disc and then installing it on the HDD. This work with a new computer is tedious and demanding time wise. Of course, I am not doing anything while the software is downloading. You have to be there for some of it, but, since I have nothing to do, I choose to be there for it throughout the download. This gives me a feeling of being in control, but it is terribly boring. The scary part is knowing that at any minute I could push the wrong button and lose hours of waiting for software to download. Then I have to start all over again. I identify with Sisyphus at that point. Twenty four hours are gone now, lost to sitting twiddling my thumbs because I don’t understand something to do with my computer.

Update on this paragraph: Yesterday evening, after reinstalling WIN 8.1, the computer started crashing at every moment. Guessing that the problem was basically the motherboard, I disassembled the computer and put everything aside. I lose a HDD, memory, a motherboard, and an O/S. I gain a new case, a video card, a wireless adapter, a DVD writer, a new Power Supply, and an old 3.3 GHz processor with its heat sink. The mistake was using an old motherboard from 2010 with a lot of new hardware. It was like new wine in old wine skins.