As I did in New Jersey, I have taken to leaving the house in the dead of the night, from 2am- 3am, on my bicycle. It is quiet at that time. I have been going out of town onto side roads leading to other small towns in the area. There are always a few cars and trucks passing by out there, esp. on the main roads. I prefer walking alongside the bicycle instead of riding it. I walk long distances-several miles-without riding. The bike becomes a prop, my only possession, like a walker for a disabled older person. My body responds to the walking by accumulating energy. It heats up. Out there, on a clear night, I have the moon and the stars. I turn off my lights and am in complete darkness. The air is clear and sweet. I am free of the world of other people, of the hustle and bustle of the day in town. As it has been for a number of years, I am left alone with my thinking. If there is ever a place where things that go bump in the night, it is here. I must admit, I do like approaching the lit up area of town on my return. I am suddenly assaulted by the noises of the town-the heatpumps and generators outside the houses and buildings. I am always on the lookout for the police. Although I am in compliance with their regulations for riding a bicycle at night with my protective clothing and my bike lit up, I still fear being accosted by them. I guess I am within my rights. People tell me it is dangerous out there at that time of night. Well, let them accompany me and see for themselves if it is dangerous. Why waste the night in bed sleeping? Sometimes I stop walking completely and stare around for a while at the horizon and the night sky. The land is flat with farmers’ fields all around. I call this experience an epiphany. I couldn’t be any more alone than at this time. People are sleeping.